h1

A great utility that fixed my crashing explorer issues!

October 6, 2007

For the last few weeks, I’ve been having some serious issues with my Vista installation, that I almost thought I’d scrap it all for either going back to XP or switching over to Ubuntu.

Well, I got sick of it and researched my issue. I thought it was my anti-virus (I was running Avast Free Edition) but it ended up being a shell extension from Acronis that caused the issue.

I used a great tool called ShellExView that exposed all running shell extensions. I disabled the Acronis shell extension (which is still great software by the way), and right-clicking any file or menu does not cause my explorer to bug out any more.

ShellExView lets you view all installed shell extensions. If available, it displays the description, as well as version details, company information, location, file name and more. You can optionally disable/enable any item, which can be very useful to disable an extension, that you don t need or that has been left behind in your right click menu from a previous software install.

Now, I can honestly say I’m a little more happy with Vista now. I’m still having some issues (which I will post about, because I need some help with it) but overall things are much more happy now!

Leave a Reply

