h1

Setting up Direct Push for the first time

April 28, 2007

One of my last projects at my current place of employment is to deploy Direct Push technology with a Windows Mobile 5 Smartphone my boss just purchased from Verizon, the Treo 700wx.

I’ve never done this before. But I’ve got some great resources on where to start. It doesn’t seem that hard at all. You have to have a few things in place, obviously.

First thing I did was find a wonderful step-by-step guide on SearchExchange.com. This guide really explains the whole process very well. You should check this out if you’re a newbie to Direct Push technology.

One of the things I got mixed answers was on the whole self-signed cert or Trusted authority cert that needs to be in place on the SBS (in my case we’re using SBS 2003). But the way to do it with no headaches is to just purchase a third-party SSL certificate and IT WILL WORK. GoDaddy has a cheap certificate (only $19.99 a year) or there are some others out there, but the GoDaddy will be the cheapest and easiest way to go. Microsoft has a comparison on their partner page.

So this week I will hopefully have this in place. My boss is purchasing the certificate today so I’ll let everyone know how it goes.

Does anyone else have any good step by step guides or good resources on setting up Direct Push on Exchange 2003 Sp2?

Leave a Reply

