h1

How to make a CAT5 cable in a pinch

April 11, 2007

At my old job in Buffalo NY I would make CAT 5 cables all the time. I could practically do it in my sleep. But just the other day I had to make (3) 50 foot cables and I seriously was lost. I couldn’t remember exactly how to do it.

So I dug through my trunk of my car and found my cable snips and crimper and went at it. I had to research online quickly how to make a Class-A CAT5 cable. There are two standards, A and B. To tell you the truth, I don’t know why, but there is. I was always told A was the way to go. And I have never failed making a cable. Ok… once.

Anyway, I found this excellent technote and followed it. About 30 minutes later I had 3 working cables.

SO, if you ever need a super long cable (or a super short one), or just don’t feel like spending lots of money on a simple CAT 5 Ethernet cable, get a spool of cable, some connectors, a crimping tool and you can do it all yourself!


Spool of Cat 5


Cat 5 Connector


Crimping Tool

Leave a Reply

